Cricket World Cup Betting 2019

Excitement is building ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, which will see the world’s 10 best one-day international teams play at cricket grounds across England and Wales from May 30 to July 14.

Cricket World Cup Best Bets

Here are the top 5 profitable free bets for the Cricket World Cup 2019


Cricket World Cup 2019

Cricket Betting Markets

As the World Cup gets closer, the top sportsbooks will open a range of cricket odds markets, including top runscorer, top wicket-taker, and player of the series.

Top runscorer

India’s Virat Kohli will likely lead the odds in this market, given he currently has the highest ODI batting average ever (59.83 from 208 innings). Kohli’s teammate Rohit Sharma, England’s Joe Root, and New Zealand’s Ross Taylor will also feature high in the odds. Dave Warner, due to return in March from the 12-month bans imposed on him by Cricket Australia for ball tampering, will round out the top 5 in the betting odds.

Top wicket taker

India will dominate the cricket betting market for top wicket taker, given the good form of fast bowler Jaspit Bumrah and spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Mitch Starc will go into the Cricket World Cup as the most highly regarded Australian bowler.

Player of the tournament

Mitch Starc won player of the tournament at the 2015 Cricket World Cup and will start high in the odds to win it again. Warner and Steve Smith – who is also serving a ban for his involvement in the ball-tampering scandal – are other possible winners. From other countries, Kohli, Bumrah, Root, and South Africa’s Quinton de Kock should be among the favourites.

Other odds are:

West Indies @21.00, Sri Lanka @23.00, Bangladesh @51.00, Afghanistan @101.00

2019 Cricket World Cup Predictions

England go in deserved favourites (best odds: 3.75 at Unibet) to win the World Cup, given their 2-1 series victory over India in England in July. Incredibly, the English have never won the Cricket World Cup, although they’ve been runners-up three times, most recently in 1992. Given they’ll be playing on home soil, will they rise to the challenge or fall under the pressure?

India are close behind (best odds: 4.50 at Neds) in the cricket odds and in the ICC’s official ODI rankings. With an imposing batting lineup and three of the world’s best one-day bowlers, the Indians will be looking to win the tournament for a third time.

The Australian cricket team is in unfamiliar territory, starting this tournament third in the odds (best odds: 6.00 at Pointsbet and bet365). The Aussies have won 5 World Cups in total and 4 of the last 5. Can they return to the summit in 2019? A lot will depend on how Smith and Warner gel with the rest of the team upon returning from their bans.

South Africa are fourth in betting (best odds: 8.00 at bet365), which seems about right given their 2-1 series win over an under-strength Australia last week. Remarkably, the Proteas have never made a World Cup final, although they’ve made the semis 4 times in the 7 tournaments they’ve played since debuting in 1992.

New Zealand (best odds: 10.00 at bet365) are always a threat at these tournaments, and came close to winning a first title in 2015 when they lost to Australia in the final. The Black Caps are currently third in the ICC ODI rankings, and you can be sure they’ll cause some surprises next year.

Live Betting on the Cricket World Cup 2019

Starting with the opening game between England and South Africa on May 30, the likes of bet365 and Unibet will offer live betting on markets such as match winner, top batsman, and top bowler.

If you’re unable to view on TV, the good news is Bet365 also offers live online cricket streams. You can use it to watch any World Cup match, provided you have a funded Sports account or have placed a bet within the previous 24 hours.

Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule

 The Cricket World Cup moves to a different format in 2019, with just 10 teams participating – 4 fewer than the previous tournament. All 10 teams will play in a single group, with each team playing the other 9 teams for 45 games in total. The top 4 will progress to knockout semi-finals, with the 2 winners to meet in the final. Matches will be played at 11 cricket grounds throughout England and Wales.

Here are some of the matches to watch in the group stage:

  • England v South Africa, The Oval, London, Thu May 30, 7:30 p.m. AEST
  • Australia v India, The Oval, London, Sun June 9, 7:30 p.m. AEST
  • India v Pakistan, Old Trafford, Manchester, Sun June 16, 7:30 p.m. AEST
  • England v Australia, Lord’s, London, Tue Tue June 25, 7:30 p.m. AEST
  • Australia v New Zealand, Lord’s, London, Sat June 29, 10:30 p.m. AEST
  • England v India, Edgbaston, Birmingham, Sun June 30, 7:30 p.m. AEST
  • Australia v South Africa, Old Trafford, Manchester, Sat July 6, 10:30 p.m. AEST
  • World Cup Final, Sun July 14, Lord’s, London, 7:30 p.m. AEST

2015 Cricket World Cup Winner

Australia won the 2015 Cricket World Cup, defeating co-hosts New Zealand in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in front of more than 93,000 people. The Aussies finished second in Group A with a 4-1 record, losing only to the Kiwis in Auckland, but took all before them in the knockout stages with a 6-wicket win over Pakistan in the quarters, a 95-run win over India in the semis, and an easy 7-wicket win in the final.

Mitch Starc and New Zealand’s Trent Boult led the bowlers wiuth 22 wickets each. New Zealand’s Martin Guptill led the runscorers and broke the record for highest-ever individual score at a World Cup with 237 off 163 balls against the West Indies in the quarters. Australia’s James Faulkner took 3-36 in the final to be named man of the match.